Ground in Meter Base

Status
Not open for further replies.

awc

First off let me say I'm a newbie here and I'm going to try hard to not ask what may seem like a stupid question but I need some clarification because another guy I work with is driving me crazy on this. In the meter base we are to have a GEC running from a lug in the can to the grounding electrode. Now here comes the question....is there suppose to be yet another conductor running from the lug in the can to the bonded ground bar in the Main Panel? We have been arguing on it today and I came home tonight and I just have to know for sure so I can prove my point to him, he thinks he knows everything after doing this for 6 months.:mad:

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
awc said:
Now here comes the question....is there suppose to be yet another conductor running from the lug in the can to the bonded ground bar in the Main Panel?

No, there is not "supposed" to be another conductor running from the meter can to the main panel, you're allowed to install one but, it will simply be a parallel neutral and a waste of material and effort.

It is not required.

Roger

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
You're welcome, below is a picture that applies.

1016666050_2.gif

Show him the illustration and point out that there is no EGC from the "Main Panel" to the meter nor is there one from the meter to the transformer, the neutral carries the fault current on the line side of the main.

Roger

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
The grounding electrode conductor can be attached at any point from the weatherhead to the meter. Its most commonly done in the service enclosure in my area.

awc