Grounding and three-phase ungrounded delta

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please excuse me, as machines that I design are typically DC or gas powered. I'm a relative newbie when it comes to AC.

I've been asked to design a scissor-lift truck that is powered by a customer supplied power source of 480 volt 3-phase ungrounded delta. From what I understand, this is three wires, potential across any two wires is 480 Volts. I will be using this power to run a 480 VAC motor, and also be sending 480 into a transformer to get 120 VAC for a control circuit. My problem lies with safety and grounding.

How should I ground this unit for safety? Should I have anything on the source side of the transformer? Should I ground the motor in some way? Do I need a ground on the 120 V side of the transformer, if so, just ground one leg to the frame of the machine?

Any help would be much appreciated. I've got a schematic and wiring diagram of an old unit on the way from the customer, but I'd like to double check your ideas versus the original design.

Thanks

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
This topic is way beyond what we can answer here or you should attempt to design.
480V is very unforgiving.
This is an Industrial DIY question, IMO. I'm going to lock this post. If you disagree send a PM to the chief moderator, Charlie B

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
The Forum was created as a vehicle for professionals in the electrical industry to give and receive assistance in understanding or performing their job-related tasks. We are not permitted to assist persons who are not electricians to perform their own electrical installation work. After an exchange of Private Messages with the OP, I have come to the conclusion that this is not a DIY question. It is a job-related task, and it is a design task assigned to an engineer.