hazardous locations C1D1 and C1D2 right next to each other

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dear mr. Mike holt

I really enjoy Reading your nec articles all the time ever since I graduated from university
And would like to address a particular question to you in regards to your most recent article
Understanding requirements for haz locations:

1. If we were to have a situation very similar to the one depicted on fig 2 of your article
Whereby you have a C1D1 area right next to a C1D2 area, would you consider using
C1D1 lighting fixtures for that area and C1D2 fixtures for the other one even though
They are right next to each other? Why? Is this sustained in the nec or not?

1. What is your best recommendation as I am in the middle of one exact situation for
Paint company where they will store the paint and on the other one mix and prepare
The paint

Thanks and hoping to hearing from you soon,

Ing. Juan Diaz Colocho, MSEE, PE
DIAZ COLOCHO HERMANOS
CARIBE HOBBY CENTER
ASESORIA Y TECNOLOGIA EN ILUMINACION (IESNA CERTIFIED)
TEL 503-22981005 / 70053980

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Welcome to the forums.

I believe this is the newsletter you were referring to but I couldn't find figure 2. However, if I understand your question, it isn't critical.

In "open air" there will always be a Division 2 envelope around Division 1. See Section 500.5(B)(2)(3).

Equipment may be installed per the area classification it is located in. Even if the Division 2 equipment is immediately next to an "imaginary" boundary, it would still be acceptable. (You have to draw the line somewhere.)

Luminaires (fixtures) do have a few special cautions, the primary (but not only) one being operating temperatures. See Section 501.130.

MRKN

I as well have no idea what figure you're referencing.