Help ! LV installation.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjc

Got A Question thats applicabe to the LV and LE forum, didnt relize that this forum existed at the Mike Holt site.

I'm an Electrical Contractor with very little experience in the limited energy field , and could use some help here.
I'm wiring a resi-ranch and the LV contractor just wont show or return the GC phone calls so he asked if I could help him.

of Course I said ok (cause it cant be that difficult), I will need to install in 3 places, Cable TV, telephone, and fax in one place. These areas each are about 35 feet fom the service mast where the cable and phone get into the building but I'm unsure what kind of Low voltage cable or phone wire to use and should this be done in idividual runs of wire or spliced ???

Any info would help , Thanks in advance.

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
IMO the best install is 2 cat 5's and 2 RG 6's home runned to each opening if budget allows for that.

mjc

So Chris,

1) RG6 is for CABLE TV one Run to each room spliced using splitters to each wall. and

2) CAT 5 is for FAX or TELEPHONE ?

How many wires are in Cat5 ? or will I need?

stickboy1375

mjc said:
So Chris,

1) RG6 is for CABLE TV one Run to each room spliced using splitters to each wall. and

2) CAT 5 is for FAX or TELEPHONE ?

How many wires are in Cat5 ? or will I need?

Please dont be mad but I have to ask, what planet you been hiding out at? You never hooked a tv up before? I'm only asking, not trying to be rude.

Last edited:

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
mdshunk said:
Check at your supply house and see what BICSI classes are being offered, and take a few.
I believe what Marc is getting at here is

1 cat 5 for voice(phone)

1 cat 5 for data(computer router)

1 RG6 for HD TV

1 RG6 for DVR

mjc