Help with 215.10 (2014 NEC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

bisom

Hi,
I'm studying for my C5 Inspection Certificate and am looking for a little clarification. I purchased the Mike Holt study material and came across a question I couldn't answer (and my seasoned colleagues couldn't answer).

One of the questions asks : Ground-fault protection of equipment shall be required for a feeder disconnect if the disconnect is rated _____

A)800a/208V
B)800A/480V
C)1000A/208V
D)1000A/480V

So the answer stated in the Answer Key says the answer is "D" and refers you to section 215.10.
215.10 states : Each feeder disconnect rated 1000 amperes or more and installed on solidly grounded wye electrical system of more than 150 volts to ground, but not exceeding 600 volts phase to phase, shall be provided with ground fault protection of equipment in accordance with the provisions of 230.95.

My question is, wouldn't "C" and "D" be correct because they are both above 150V and both smaller than 600V? Am I missing something? Is it impossible for a wye electrical system to be 208v because there are 3 hot legs?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you all.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Am I missing something?
Yes you are, but it is a subtle tidbit. The rule you quoted says "more than 150 volts to ground." A 208V system has 208 volts phase to phase, but only 120 volts to ground.

Welcome to the forum.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
(D) is the best answer but for a 480 volt system the answers should indicate that the system is actually a solidly grounded WYE system. The choice of (D) could be a ungrounded system or a 3 wire Delta.

bisom

Thank you guys very much. So I guess my follow up question would have to be, Where can I learn why 120v goes to ground on this system? Is it like this on a delta system? Go easy on me, I'm just starting to learn this trade.

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member