Help with security and fire alarm

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello.
I am a student at a technical college. We are currently working on a project that entails the lighting/fire alarm/security system/estimate of a halfway house. Does anyone know where i could get more information, such as the requirements for the security system? I also need to find how to draw the security symbols in AutoCad. Any help would, of course, be appreciated

ron

There are lots of websites that have symbols for that particular client or application. Search "drafting symbols" in google or yahoo.
There is no organization that I know of that makes standardized security device symbols like NFPA makes for fire alarm devices.

love9099

Security

Security

It would be best if you called in some professional consultants to help you. First you will need to know how much budget you have and then look at the wants and the needs of the project. Can you hardwired the building, does it have drop tile or will a wireless system be needed?

Do you need glass break detection? Does the fire system need to tie into the same system? If so the panel, wire and equipment will need different listings.
Do you need door contacts and or motion detection? How many keypads do you need? How many total zones or points do you need? Will you ever need more? How will it be monitored? Radio, Cell backup, PHone, Internet ?
If there is a chance that the people may try to defeat the system using magnets then I suggest using the BMS balanced Magnetic contacts which run more money but will be more secure.
Do you need to tie Temp sensors or water sensors into the same system?