How to measure the current of a normal 12v dc motor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hanalee

Occupation
Electronic Engineer
I would like to know if there is a way to measure the current of a normal 12V dc motor.

I am using a DRV8838 and a Arduino Nano.

I want to use it to stop the motor once a specific current draw or load is reached, if the motor is about to stall.

I’m fairly new in all of this, so if possible a simple explanation would be nice.

ATSman

ATSman
Occupation
Electrical Engineer/ Electrical Testing & Controls
Yes, that would work. Or you can purchase a DC shunt sized for the motor HP. Then with the known resistance of the shunt, use Ohm's Law
I = E/R, measure the voltage across the shunt (in series with the motor running) and solve for the current.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Yes, that would work. Or you can purchase a DC shunt sized for the motor HP. Then with the known resistance of the shunt, use Ohm's Law
I = E/R, measure the voltage across the shunt (in series with the motor running) and solve for the current.
Just size the shunt resistance so that the voltage drop across the shunt at maximum current is low enough that it does not affect motor performance.

Hanalee

Occupation
Electronic Engineer
I got an idea of putting a very low ohm resistor in series with the motor power feed and measure the voltage drop across it. Knowing the voltage and the resistance like I can calculate the current. Is that right?

RCC1

Occupation
Retired - E&I Maintenance Superintendent
Take a look at the DroneBot Workshop web site. He has a YouTube video that explains all the Arduino modules available to measure low currents and voltages. Video is called "Measure DC Voltage and Current with Arduino." Link: Measure DC Voltage and Current with Arduino - YouTube The modules typically have small shunts or Hall effect sensors. He also shows Arduino code for the use with the modules.

kwired

Electron manager