How to set up LLC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rdcowart

Occupation
Electrical license Holder
I’m trying to figure out how to set up as a LLC. Right now I’m set up as a sole proprietorship. I know that an LLC is the way to go for taxes and for the protection of my personal Assets. I’m just confused about how to set it up. I know I can hire lawyers to do this for me but that is costly and I’m just getting started. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I’m trying to figure out how to set up as a LLC. Right now I’m set up as a sole proprietorship. I know that an LLC is the way to go for taxes and for the protection of my personal Assets. I’m just confused about how to set it up. I know I can hire lawyers to do this for me but that is costly and I’m just getting started. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks

We are contractors not cpa's or lawyers so I strongly advise you to get it set up by a professional and then go from there

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I'm an electrician and not an attorney so for me hiring one to set up an LLC is the only option. You might find some resources online. I would consult an accountant also. Back in the day when I was contracting the rage was S corps for the tax benefits most of which are now obsolete so you should explore both the legal/liability and tax implications of whatever type of business you choose.

Greg1707

Occupation
Business owner Electrical contractor
Setting up an LLC

Setting up an LLC

It is very simple to set up an LLC. That is why many websites only charge $50 or so. All that is required is to download an application from your state authority. Fill out the form and return with a check. FYI, there are no tax advantages to being an LLC vs. a sole proprietor. Profit and losses from an LLC are transferred directly to schedule C of your personal tax return.

Adamjamma