I made a big mistake and didn’t realize it soon enough

Status
Not open for further replies.

BackCountry

Electrician
Occupation
Licensed Electrician and General Contractor
Well, I have to admit when I’m wrong: and I made an error that I should have caught, and now I’ve got a potential $21,000 loss if I can’t figure out some way to mitigate it.

Background: 23kw (three SMA7.7’s) single phase 240v PV system that we built that’s in the PTO process with PG&E, it’s NEMA with one generating meter and 4 load meters. All of the load meters are at least 3-500’ away.

I never thought to pre apply or check the transformer on the generating meter, it’s an ag property and the pole is around the corner, it has an existing 200A service — I never looked up. I should have, it’s a 10kva transformer.

PG&E is stipulating either $21,000 to upgrade the transformer, or…? I’ve never tried to export limit before, has anyone done this with SMA inverters, if so — do you need the data manager to do it? And finally, any experience with PTO using export limiting?

If I did export limit, it would likely not be a huge difference — this system maxes at 19kw during testing, and PG&E would limit me to 13kw.

The other option is to re permit, and trench 500’ to another meter with a 25kva transformer, pull 4/0 to that and re submit.

I’m all ears, and I’ll be looking up more often. I for some reason mistakenly thought that PG&E was on the hook for lower than 30kw, and I was wrong.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
What does the customer have to say about it? Are they willing to pay for a 23 kilowatt system that only generates 13 kilowatts?

Maybe you should just get rid of one of the three systems

BackCountry

Electrician
Occupation
I haven’t worked through the options with them yet, I wanted to make sure what I’m thinking about doing is going to work first.