Identifying CEE / Ufer

ShockaBrah

Occupation
Master Electrician
Doing a small residential Remodel + "Service Mod" (replacing old 50' run of SEU with SER and external disco). House was built ~ 1970, split level with garage under and on a well. Original service included a disconnect inside the garage directly behind meter, main panel fed with 4/0 3-wire to panel with a separate GEC from single exterior ground rod to disco, from disco to panel. Directly below the panel is what to me originally appeared to be a copper coated ground rod driven through the pad with a #4 bare up into the panel (i removed the #4). But after installing a new 200A meter/disco combo and two fresh ground rods with a #6 to the meter, that random interior ground rod was nagging at the back of my mind. I started thinking that maybe, that was not a ground rod but a CEE. I have limited experience with CEE's, but I have never seen a copper-coated ground rod used as one and don't see how it could be done correctly and still use that pronoun (**all chuckle**). I took a pair of channels and tried to turn it to see if it could, nope, smashed it with a sledge nothing happened seemed rock solid. SO anyway, short story long, my question to ya'll is this; have you ever seen a CEE terminated by way of a copper-coated ground rod with an acorn and #4 and is that even possible or is this just simply a ground rod that was driven before the pad was poured. Obviously there is no way for me to verify that the installation meets the requirements of an Ufer and yes I could hook it up anyway but I don't want to buy 60' of #4 to run all the way back to the disconnect if it is just a ground rod. Inspection should be tomorrow and i want to be prepared for a discussion with inspector, so any input is good input.

- \m/ shocka brah

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician