Installing romex in a home

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmsbrush

I have 9 years of commercial experience. Now that I am an EC I have been doing Custom homes, because of capital reasons. When I'm doing residential I run my romex like it was conduit. Straight ,right angles 90's and ect. It looks very nice, but I think it is taking too much time!! Are the guys who are doing homes do you do you're work this way? 2) do you run you're wire's in diagonals?( I mean the fast and shortest route?). Because that would be the fastest!!

frizbeedog

jmsbrush said:
I have 9 years of commercial experience. Now that I am an EC I have been doing Custom homes, because of capital reasons. When I'm doing residential I run my romex like it was conduit. Straight ,right angles 90's and ect. It looks very nice, but I think it is taking too much time!! Are the guys who are doing homes do you do you're work this way? 2) do you run you're wire's in diagonals?( I mean the fast and shortest route?). Because that would be the fastest!!

Save wire, save time.

After the rock is up, who's gonna see those nice angles you made?

I treat concealed wiring differently than wiring which will be visible for eternity.

Support it, secure it, cover it and move on.

mdshunk

You'll get lots of strong opinions on both sides, but for me it's pretty simple. I can sum it up: "Beauty where it counts, speed and economy where it doesn't". I run diagonal and cross-country on a regular basis. No need for level, plumb, and right angles on concealed work. Exposed work is a horse of another color, and you're well-advised to run it much like you would pipe in that case.

Don't Change.

Don't Change.