Installing security cameras and recording stuff.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkgrady

A customer wants to install video cameras to watch his parking lot after hours. I think it would take 4-6 cameras. I have no experience in this type of job but I'm guessing it is not diffucult even with no prior experience. I assume each camera needs power to operate and a coax cable back to a recorder of some kind. Are there system kits that can be purchased that would make this a simple job?

GUNNING

yes
Siamese cable with rg59 and 2 - 18 awg power leads
OR
run cat 5e with adapters
power and DVR recorder are separate and can terminate at the same place.
They have them with options to only record when something passes by and can email you.
More cameras the more angles. The the HD cameras are very clear the cheaper ones are good for seeing general actions but no detail
like plate numbers
Get a big sign. I've had people back out of camera range when they see the sign at the house.
Stopped the kids from breaking into the van in the drive cold. 4 CAMERAS AND A DVR W/ WIRE COST $250. Labor was extra.:happyyes:
Goto You Tube, there are some great instructional videos.
Goto EBAY for direct sourcing. (china)

readydave8

re member
Occupation
electrician
I liked the systems I bought from securitycameradirect.com, did not like the Sam's club system (which cost more, and took very highly trained people to transfer pictures to flash drive).

iwire

Staff member
A customer wants to install video cameras to watch his parking lot after hours. I think it would take 4-6 cameras. I have no experience in this type of job but I'm guessing it is not diffucult even with no prior experience. I assume each camera needs power to operate and a coax cable back to a recorder of some kind. Are there system kits that can be purchased that would make this a simple job?

It can be as simple as you describe or more complicated then we can imagine.