Keeping your crew and yourself safe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brandon B

Occupation
electrician.
I’ve been working for this company for six years, I’ve graduated from apprentice to journeyman with this company. I have a great deal of respect and loyalty to one of our project managers he has been a family friend since before I was born but over the years I’ve realized that our procedures when it comes to safety aren’t up to par. I’m a young journeyman and I do my best to keep my crew safe, I don’t expect anyone to do things that I wouldn’t do. A few times I’ve been put into situations that I felt were unsafe. Most recently I was sent an arc flash suit without hot gloves so I asked for a pair. I needed the suit and gloves to perform some work on a 2000amp switchgear during a shut down. Our shut down was scheduled to start at midnight and was a two hour drive from our office. I arrived on site and hour early and began to set up. I tested the gloves I was sent and found pin holes in each rubber glove on the finger tips. I started to inspect the gloves more and realized these gloves had never been tested. No stamped date of testing nothing. I told the supervisor for the company we were doing the work for and he shut us down. My company wasn’t happy about this, they blamed me for opening my mouth. The work we had to do was on the load side of the main breaker and we were going to open the breaker. technically it wasn’t “hot” work so they didn’t understand why it was a big deal that the gloves failed my test. They said “If so and so was on that job he would have done it no problem.” This is a fourth generation company and I feel that they are stuck in their ways. Is it worth sticking around and fighting to help keep myself and our crew safe or do I walk away? As I said before I’m extremely loyal to the guy that gave me this opportunity, he’s opened a lot of doors for me. I don’t want to leave on bad terms. Any thoughts? Appreciate the feed back.

Brandon B