Licencing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

karn

Occupation
Electrician
I've been doing electrical work for about 15 years, running jobs for about 10, I've worked for a few different companies, the first two wouldn't sign off on my hours and I haven't really worked at my current one for long enough to ask them to, and I'm kinda laid off currently, thought it would be a good opportunity to have the time to test- except every company was in a different state, and I would want to test for either masters/unlimited license, but don't know if I can test in any state, or how I could prove my hours

I've been doing electrical work for about 15 years, running jobs for about 10, I've worked for a few different companies, the first two wouldn't sign off on my hours and I haven't really worked at my current one for long enough to ask them to, and I'm kinda laid off currently, thought it would be a good opportunity to have the time to test- except every company was in a different state, and I would want to test for either masters/unlimited license, but don't know if I can test in any state, or how I could prove my hours

You will have to ask the licensing board where you are seeking a license and see what they require. When I got licensed in WA, I had to provide a summary of hours and jobs, and provide payroll documentation for it. I was able to come up with a decent job summary off of old calendars, books, and invoices. My learning was very informal with a one man show, so I was mostly paid with personal checks. I had to have my bank search their history for all all my deposits for a bunch of years past to find the checks. It can be a real hassle.

growler

You really need to say which state you are trying to get a license in. It's not the same in every state.