Lights in small walk in freezer

Status
Not open for further replies.

BCES

Have a customer that needs a couple lights added in a walk in freezer. Has one jelly jar in there now. Health inspector says more light is needed. I've never done a freezer before. Can I run MC cable or does it need to be in sealtite? Im assuming anywhere I put a strap and mount a light I need to put a dab of silicone where the screw is going.

Thanks for any input

kwired

Electron manager
The covered lamp is there more because the health inspector requires it for food safety reasons then because NEC might call it a wet or damp location.

I don't see what a dab of silicone gains you on your mounting screws.

Electric-Light

The covered lamp is there more because the health inspector requires it for food safety reasons then because NEC might call it a wet or damp location.

I don't see what a dab of silicone gains you on your mounting screws.

The inside of a walk in freezer is as dry as a location can be, I use emt and regular fittings to hook up lights.

Light is at the interior temperature and it will condense water out when it gets blasted with warm air when you open the door.

kwired

Electron manager
Light is at the interior temperature and it will condense water out when it gets blasted with warm air when you open the door.
Worst case would be if the cooler/freezer opened to the outdoors and you opened the door on a hot humid day. Otherwise most are inside a building and probably an air conditioned building so humidity level is lower then it would be outside. Heat produced by the lamp will offset the effect - especially if an incandescent lamp.

I still say more people will get a request to put in a covered lampholder for food product safety reasons then because an EI calls it a wet location. They still don't really like the glass period, but the glass jar is more shatter resistant then an incandescent lamp. They usually will accept an exposed glass lamp if it is teflon coated.