Lockout Tagout of Main vs Intermediate Subpanel Electrical

Status
Not open for further replies.

TGriffin

Occupation
Quality Manager
Hi,

I am a Quality Manager and have limited exposure to Safety and LO/TO in my past experiences, where the organizations that I worked had a separate Safety and Training Manager that developed and maintained all SAFE requirements. Now in a smaller org as a Quality Manager, I cover the Quality Management System and any documentation related to Safety as well.

First, my attempts are to make the system easy to understand and one that I can easily and confidently explain. The plan is to label all Lockout points by equipment name with a serialized label and include how many energy exposure points for said equipment and which one this particular label covers (ie Laser Cutter, LOTO point 1 of 3 and a list of hazards present with checks besides all applicable). The intent is the Authorized will know just by LO/TO labeling what and how many hazards are present.

Second and the reason for this post. Some of our equipment have intermediate electrical panel lockouts and then the main breaker lockout. Does a lockout tagout program include the intermediate panels or just the overall breaker lockout? I am guessing the intermediate panels are there to lockout equipment in stages and may assist in trouble shooting etc. Are these intermediate panel lockouts considered in the Lockout Tagout program, if so how are they accounted for? There seems to be no direct information on this topic on the web.

Any input would be helpful, thanks in advance.

T

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
If you lock out the main why would you need to lock out an intermediate? I'm not really sure what you are asking. The requirement is that you be able to lock out all sources of energy. It doesn't matter where they physically are so much as that you can get to all of them and they are all documented.

GeorgeB

ElectroHydraulics engineer (retired)
Occupation
Retired