LV Contractor Extending Power Receptacles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jammer97

Hi All,
I'm a Low Voltage contractor (C-7) in California.
My question is, can I extend a 115/120 VAC power receptacle to facilitate the plugging in of my installed equipment? Keeping in mind that the extending of the power receptacle is a very small portion of the entire job.

Thanks in advance
Jammer97

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
With the caveat that I don't know the details of Ca., I'd say no, you cannot do any any permanent, hard-wired installation.

Jammer97

Found this in the California State contractors websight

Found this in the California State contractors websight

Nothing contained in this section shall prohibit a specialty contractor from taking and executing a contract involving the use of two or more crafts or trades, if the performance of the work in the crafts or trades, other than in which he or she is licensed, is incidental and supplemental to the performance of the work in the craft for which the specialty contractor is licensed.

(b) In public works contracts, as defined in Section 1101 of the Public Contract Code, the awarding authority shall determine the license classification necessary to bid and perform the project. In no case shall the awarding authority award a prime contract to a specialty contractor whose classification constitutes less than a majority of the project. When a specialty contractor is authorized to bid a project, all work to be performed outside of his or her license specialty, except work authorized by subdivision (a), shall be performed by a licensed subcontractor in compliance with the Subletting and Subcontracting Fair Practices Act (Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 4100) of Part 1 of Division 2 of the Public Contract Code).

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Jammer97 said: