Mba

Status
Not open for further replies.

baumancl

Anyone out there that could give me some advice on the following would be great.

I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering back in 2006 and since have been working for a small Electrical Engineering Consulting firm in which there is not much room for advancement. I plan on taking the PE test in a little over a year when I am eligible. Here is the question:

I always planned on the possiblity of going back to school for a graduate program to get a Master's degree. I am considering of going back and getting my Masters in Business Administration (MBA) with the thinking that it would give me better criteria for a management position at a different larger consulting firm down the road. Would the MBA put me in a position to fill a management roll faster or do those positions usually go to individuals with the most consulting experience? I am trying to determine if indeed the MBA will give me the advantage I am hoping for in speeding up the process down the road of obtaining a management position or if pure experience and having my PE will do the same thing?

Comment, Suggestions, advice....

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I went through the same debate myself. I won't say how long ago, but I still have, in my office desk, the slide rule I bought my freshman year in college. :wink: I decided to get the MS degree in EE instead. It has worked out well for me. But much depends on circumstances, and yours and mine will be different. I will always recommend continuation of education and training. But the choice of programs is too personal a choice for me to give any advice.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems