Metal Handrail Bonding

alcornjr

Hello. I'm an electrical engineer providing a design for the Phoenix area Light Rail that involves a bridge going over the Salt River. The light rail train itself along with cars and pedestrians will be using this bridge. The train is powered by an overhead cantanary system with medium voltage. There will be many lights on the bridge and at 120V (I did not provide the lighting, only providing the power distribution) which will require larger conductors as normal because of the max 1000' distance. I would of done the lighting at 240V. I've designed many of the passenger stations electrical over the years and we have to bond the metal handrailing with a #2AWG wire to a ground ring system (4/O wire). This bridge also has a pedestrian railing. Why wouldn't I also bond THAT railing as well? Per 250.104(C) - anything that might become energized. I most certainly think it will give the train DC medium voltage power along with all my conductors tied right next to this handrail itself. I'm asking this question because the architect on the project is fighting me on NOT providing this bond wire at every 150' or so for the railing. He's only concerend about aesthetics and I'm concerned about safety. Wouldn't this type of railing bond be required at the bridge and the stations?? Thank you very much for any help or suggestions. I appreciate it!

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
If you bond the railing to a ground ring is it only connected to the dirt? If so how will the dirt do anything to clear a fault to the rail?

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
The handrail must, of course, be bonded somewhere.