Metal strapping on a PVC conduit

JuanC

Occupation
Electrician
I recently had an inspection at a new county i haven't worked at and was told that i cant have metal “pipe hangers” on a pvc conduit (i had my guy use the hangers to give it a bit of offset so it can connect to the disconnect easier) this is my first time running into this problem as I didn’t think it was a problem since the conduit is plastic. The county is Anne Arundel county in Maryland and they still use the 2017 NEC book, if anyone can help me locate what article talks about this issue id greatly appreciate it.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Technically the metal straps can limit the expansion and contraction of the PVC. Inspectors here typically want to see the PVC straps. Funny thing is the POCO requires the use of metal straps on the pole when installing an underground service. Personally I think that a metal strap like a Minerlac if not over tightened is fine with PVC.

david

352.30 (A) securely fastened with in 3ft

Your hangers that are supporting the conduit are they also complying with 352.30 (A)?

david

Technically the metal straps can limit the expansion and contraction of the PVC. Inspectors here typically want to see the PVC straps. Funny thing is the POCO requires the use of metal straps on the pole when installing an underground service. Personally I think that a metal strap like a Minerlac if not over tightened is fine with PVC.
Interesting the hangers on all thread that i have seen would give him the ability to allow snug but not over tight.

Also the all thread would give enough for expansion.

I guess you would have to be careful with unistrut and strapping as well

JuanC

Occupation
Electrician
352.10 (D). Wet locations.
The hangers would need protected.

But you didn't say wet locations