Military Fort License or Credentials Requirement

Status
Not open for further replies.

dickdick

I'm a Kansas Licensed Master Electrician. My new job is with a federal contractor that remodels classrooms on Military Bases.
The remodels main scope is A/V and Data. My job is to move 120 around as needed with new A/V equipment.
Occasionally a new circuit or 2 will be pulled.
Previously these tasks have been handled by subs.
No permits or inspections needed to be pulled for any of these existing room upgrades previously.
My new employer wants me to be Darn sure I have the proper credentials!
Does my Lawrence Kansas Master License have me covered?
What credentials will I need to work in Ft. Leonard Wood in Missouri?

growler

I'm a Kansas Licensed Master Electrician. My new job is with a federal contractor that remodels classrooms on Military Bases.

My new employer wants me to be Darn sure I have the proper credentials.

The only problem I see is that if your employeer is not an electrical contractor he may not have the proper insurance to cover electrical work.

I did some work for the government in Afghanistan and my Georgia License was all that was required.

Don't be fooled by the fact that there will not be a local inspection, the government may have their own idea of what an inspection is and send their own inspectors. The officer in charge is now the authority having jurisdiction. It up to them to accept any creditials and what they will be willing to accept as far as an inspection.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I can't answer for electrical contractor licenses. But the projects I designed for military bases around the country (and beyond) have all allowed me to seal the documents with my Washington State PE license. The general notion is that, as a point of fact, Fort Leonard Wood is not actually located in the state of Missouri, but rather is federal property that happens to be surrounded by the state of Missouri.

junkhound