my dillema

Status
Not open for further replies.
i'm an electrician in the carolinas running work for a contractor. i've been with him for three years. every one of his jobs are so tight ( he's usually the lowest bidder ) that we usually all go over our allotted hours. his response is we're not pushing the men . my response is , there's not enough hours in the bid to do the job, especially when the men we get are helpers. so in order for him to make a profit, i have to either be a total yeller/screamer (like him) or i have to lay guys off every week and replace them with new guys. the jobs i've run are between 150k - 850k with an averave of 10-15% profit margin. my question is : am i way off base or is this guy not bidding his jobs correctly ?
the job i'm on right now is @ 150k with 10% profit margin . @ 5k of that goes to overhead . it's a remodel of an existing building and we have 10 weeks to do it . he figured it at 1600 hours which is 4 guys 10 weeks.
long story short , i just told him that after this job i'm not running work for him anymore & i want to go back to working with my tools . I said the extra few dollars an hour & the company pickup aren't worth the stress & headaches. i just signed up for a 2 day 24 hour refresher class to prepare my for my License . i figured the loss of the truck & a few bucks an hour can be easily made up by me doing my own thing a few nights a week and a saturday here and there , without the stress & BS.
any feedback would be appreciated. Oh , my experience is 13 years in Local #3 IBEW NYC & 3 yrs running work in my present job .

Thank you,
Levelsquare

Last edited by a moderator:

emahler

i will save you the trouble....you can make a profit at those prices...just cut overhead, be more productive and at the end of the day, it's management's fault that you can't get a bunch of underpaid, unskilled apprentices to perform like well-paid, skilled electricians...

does that answer your question?

emahler

hire real electricians