NEC Uses Permitted & Uses Not Permitted

JCLP

New User
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello, I am an Electrical Engineer outside the US. In our country we've adopted the NEC as our local electrical code, so we try to comply with everything stated in the Code. Last cycle adopted is 2014, but i personally always work with the latest edition (NFPA 2023).
When the NEC states "uses permitted" and "uses not permitted" (for example in wiring methods), i get confused with the following:
  • "Uses Permitted" uses the wording "shall be permitted" which according to Art.90.5 it falls into Permissive Rules.
  • "Uses Not Permitted" uses the wording "shall no" which according to Art.90.5 it falls into Mandatory Rules.
So my two questions are:
  1. If it's not specifically permitted in the "Uses Permitted" section, then it's not allowed? Or..
  2. If it's not specifically prohibited in the "Uses Not Permitted" section, then it's allowed? (While ignoring the fact that it's not listed in the "Uses Permitted" section)

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
does this help any

90.5 Mandatory Rules, Permissive Rules, and Explanatory
Material.
(A) Mandatory Rules. Mandatory rules of this Code are those
that identify actions that are specifically required or prohibited
and are characterized by the use of the terms shall or shall not.
(B) Permissive Rules. Permissive rules of this Code are those
that identify actions that are allowed but not required, are
normally used to describe options or alternative methods, and
are characterized by the use of the terms shall be permitted or
shall not be required.
(C) Explanatory Material. Explanatory material, such as references
to other standards, references to related sections of this
Code, or information related to a Code rule, is included in this
Code in the form of informational notes. Such notes are informational
only and are not enforceable as requirements of this
Code.