Neutral Load Calculations Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tav1980

Occupation
Electrical
I am studying for my Master Electrician License, and I am using Mike Holt's Electrical Exam Prep book for the 2017 NEC.

When applying the neutral reduction allowed in article 220.83 (B) (1) and (2), the examples in the book do not add the water heater load. I understand you wont add a load that is 2 wire 240v, but when doing the unit review questions in the book, it doesn't specify if the water heater is 120v or 240v.

I understand that water heaters will more than likely be 240v (especially higher capacity), but that is not always the case. My question is if the test question doesn't specify the water heater voltage, should I assume it is 240 volts for neutral reduction purposes?

Thanks for your help!

4x4dually

Occupation
Electrical Engineer/ Ex-Electrician
I'm going to say don't over-think the test questions and just assume it is 240V.....but I've never taken the test nor passed it so someone with more experience will most likely chime in her soon.

dm9289

Industrial Maintenance Electrician
Occupation
Industrial process repair/ maintenance Electrician
I am studying for my Master Electrician License, and I am using Mike Holt's Electrical Exam Prep book for the 2017 NEC.

When applying the neutral reduction allowed in article 220.83 (B) (1) and (2), the examples in the book do not add the water heater load. I understand you wont add a load that is 2 wire 240v, but when doing the unit review questions in the book, it doesn't specify if the water heater is 120v or 240v.

I understand that water heaters will more than likely be 240v (especially higher capacity), but that is not always the case. My question is if the test question doesn't specify the water heater voltage, should I assume it is 240 volts for neutral reduction purposes?

Thanks for your help!