New Bolted Pressure Disconnect Switch & MSB in existing service

msilva94

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello, I'm a young engineer and a bit over my head here. I have a site that's upgrading their antiquated electrical service (1940's~1950's).
The existing feeders according to the utility are 3-4-500AC and they'll be running another set of 3-4-500AC Parallel in a 4" Duct.
I assume this means 3 sets of 3 conductors, 1 ground (4W) 500KCMil Armored Clad. The service is 208Y/120V.
Although they haven't explicitly stated the feeder intent, my understanding is that they will want to land both existing and new feeders together on the disconnect switch and feed out.
My design approach is to replace the antiquated Disconnect switch with a new 4000A Fusible Bolted Pressure Switch.
I will be powering a new 4000A MSB (Main Switchboard) near the service from that new disconnect switch. The MSB will backfeed existing loads on one breaker, and new loads from another breaker(s).
The new MSB will have at least two sections, a 1000A section to feed existing loads and a 3000A to feed new loads - most providers like Square D only allow breaker sizes up to 1200 or 1600 in a box so I realize a singular section of 3000A may not be possible and I may even run into multiple MSB's.
This is one of those "30% sets that's actually 100% bid docs".

My most prevalent questions:
Can I still utilize an existing enclosure with a new pringle switch or will everything need to be ripped out?
The existing system is using bust duct to power the existing distribution boards, is running (3) Sets of (4)400KCMIL #2/0G in 2-1/2"MC to the bust realistic?
Anything seasoned professionals can tell me/warn me here?
I also really want to learn from electricians, I am trying my best to learn how to see things from a contractor's perspective so my designs best represent and support their load.
This is my first post here, prior to today I've been a lurker, so hi!

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation