New Service

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a builder and I have an electritian who is kind a new with his license and he's more confused than me as what to do in this situation.

I'm building a 2000sq ft addition on a 3000sq ft house; the house have a 200 amp overhead service and we have to upgrade the service to 300 amp underground service, now the problem is that we have to supply the underground wire and not hte power company. The run is about 150 feet long and with the price of copper is very expensive and I want to give the customer the best service posible but I don't want to over spend the money.
Could anybody give me a hand as to what to use(copper or aluminum wire), what size, could I bring 2 200amp and put 2 panels?
If I use aluminum, would it be to thick and hard to get into the panel?
Is the panel especial for 300 amps?
Thank you for your time and help.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
If your electrician cannot help with these questions, you need to consider hiring someone else. These are basic questions for a residential electrician.

That said, I would need to ask a number of questions myself before I could answer yours. For starters, why do you think you need to upgrade to a 300 amp service? The whole process should have begun with a load calculation. From the calculation results you size the panel, and you size the conductors feeding the panel. So I can't tell whether a 300 amp panel is needed without more information.

All I can offer for now is that aluminum and copper each cost money, and each has advantages and disadvantages. I believe you cannot use two separate feeds to two separate panels within the same house. One house, one service, that's the limit.

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
It is quite likely that your electrician knows all of the theory needed to answer these questions, but being new doesn't know the best _practical_ answer. Ask him to join here:)

-Jon

e57