Ohm's & Kirchhoff's Laws and Isolated Ground Recep

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I started this conversation under a different thread called "Best Way to Get 'Clean' Power to a Computer Outlet". I want to start a new thread. I got my clean power answer, but now want to move on to the physics of the solution. It involves Ohm's law; electrical engineering; and field experience. I welcome all your input on this. I have read enough about IGR's to know that nobody understands them completely. If you know somebody who does, please have them join this discussion. I have learned a lot in the past two weeks researching this. I am not an apprentice. I have a lot of experience. It's just dated, rusty, and dusty. Let's dust this one off! I have witnessed the magic of an IGR in the field and now I want to understand it's pros and cons.

Here is some reading you might want to do before you offer up any off-the-hip suggestions:

See NEC 250.146(D) and 406.2(D) for the requirements for isolated grounding-type receptacles.
The Basics of Isolated Grounding Receptacles by Mike Holt, Mike Holt Enterprises, Inc., Electrical Construction & Maintenance, Oct 1, 2001

Preventing Isolated Ground Abuse by Bryan Lundgren, P.E., Haworth, Inc., Power Quality, Sep 1, 2002

Code Basics: Article 645, Information Technology Equipment by Mike Holt for EC&M Magazine

Isolated Ground Reference One by Mike Holt
Should I use Isolated Ground for my Sensitive Electronic Equipment?

Responses to "Grounding Sensitive Electronic Equipment"

If you want to do more reading you can do a Search for "Isolated Ground" on the Mike Holt Newsletter Search page:
http://www.mikeholt.com/searchsite.php#

Leviton ProGrade Isolated Ground Receptacles 15A & 20A

HERE IS THE ISSUE I AM CONCERNED WITH: