ohms law proportional

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnstanleyelectric

Hello forum, this is my first time on here so please bear with me. I was taking a test off of the " SNAPS CD" . while on there i came to this question. " If the contacted resistance of a connection increases, and the current of the circuit (load) remains the same, the voltage dropped across the connection will ________. ( I know the answer is increase. but i am having a hard time understanding this. i know that I is equal to E. and that I is equal to 1/R. or inversely proportional to R. but if you raise the resistance then the amps will lower. am i missing something? please help.... thank you.

Besoeker

Hello forum, this is my first time on here so please bear with me. I was taking a test off of the " SNAPS CD" . while on there i came to this question. " If the contacted resistance of a connection increases, and the current of the circuit (load) remains the same, the voltage dropped across the connection will ________. ( I know the answer is increase. but i am having a hard time understanding this. i know that I is equal to E. and that I is equal to 1/R. or inversely proportional to R. but if you raise the resistance then the amps will lower. am i missing something? please help.... thank you.

Welcome first time poster!
An exam question possibly?
It is not considered good form here to answer exam questions for others. Just to give a gentle shove - hopefully in the right direction.
So think about the intent of the question.
Sure, if total circuit resistance increases and the voltage applied remains the same, current will reduce.
But put this in the context of the question. The resistance of a connection. A connection. How significant do you think that is relative to total resistance of the circuit?
Then think why that question is being asked.
You know the answer is increase. What are the consequences?

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician