Panelboard Bussing

Status
Not open for further replies.

vpower1989

Occupation
Engineer
Hello All,

I am a fairly young Electrical Engineer whose currently working with a client to update/ clean up some of their site construction specifications.

I am currently working on their Panelboard section. One requirement that they have in the specification is a current density of 1000A/sq-in for bus bars. I think this is a bit of a "legacy" requirement as my counterparts on the client side don't know why it is required. I have looked at UL67 and NEMA PB1 and all I see is a requirement for bus bars to pass temperature rise testing. My gut is telling me that this requirement can be removed from the specification, and as long as future Panelboards have buses that are sized per UL67, we should be good.

Does anyone have any experience or insight as to why such a requirement could be in this specification?

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
Current density is a left over spec from more than 40 years ago.

UL tests to heat rise, but custom shops may use density (especially in switchboards and switchgear). So if your require UL Standards you would not need anything else.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
1000A/sq-in is still the standard in UL891 for SWITCHBOARDS, but it's not there for PANELBOARDS under UL67 and I don't think it ever was. That doesn't stop some entities from adding it though. I'm pretty sure for instance that the City of Los Angeles, who have their own standards in addition to the NEC, requires that. I've also heard that Chicago does too, but I've never done projects there.