PLC and Drive Panel Safety

Status
Not open for further replies.
First off, I'm am extremely impressed with the content on this forum. This will definitely be my go to with electrical safety questions in the future.

With that said, I'm still learning the ins and outs of 70E and have a question regarding the maintenance with drive and PLC panels. We build custom automated machinery that always have multiple drive panels and at least one plc panel. Our technicians often are opening these panels and connecting via Ethernet to make changes to the code. These machines are meant to run continuously so shutting down these panels is never preferred. But my thinking is that according to 70E they need to be since once the panel door is open the technician will be exposed to live bus bar or live dim rails. The PLC usually run on 24 VDC so we might be good there but the drive panels have 480. Am I reading the code correctly when I say that unless an energized work permit is obtained those panels need to be put in a safe working condition (or denergized) in order for anyone to open them up?

Thanks in advance!

fmtjfw

BEGINNING OF RANT

BEGINNING OF RANT

If the DIN rails are live then you have a big grounding failure:huh:

Is the HAZARD of working the panel live less than the hazard to people's life or physical injury when they are turned off? Is the boss willing to work them live? Is he a Qualified Person? Does he know the hazards and how to avoid them?

Or is this just a matter of money?

END OF RANT

Why aren't the Ethernet connections outside the panel? A short length of cable and another jack should cost about $10 max.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
There are two separate hazards involved. one is shock and the other is arc flash.

You have to protect employees from both hazards.

De-energization protects from both hazards.

Shock can be protected from by either distance or PPE including appropriately rated insulated gloves.