PM Ability

Alwayslearningelec

Occupation
Estimator
It fairly easy to see if an estimate is bad. How does one gauge( or what do they analyze) to determine if a project manager is doing a good job?

Seven-Delta-FortyOne

Goin’ Down In Flames........
Occupation
EC and GC
Getting the job done on time would be huge, especially with LDs in place.

Ability to be creative in handling the inevitable curveballs that will be thrown on any project. Adapt, Improvise, Overcome.

And the ability to get along with and inspire the crew is critical. Along with getting along with inspectors and owners agents.

Before I went on my own I worked as an equipment operator for a contractor who was doing a lot of PW road work. The super managed to fight with every inspector we ever had to deal with, which made the inspectors go out of their way to find problems and jam up the work. Ended up costing the owner I don’t even know how much money, apparently nearly, or did, get thrown off a job, and finally had to stop bidding that work.

Alwayslearningelec

Occupation
Estimator
Getting the job done on time would be huge, especially with LDs in place.

Ability to be creative in handling the inevitable curveballs that will be thrown on any project. Adapt, Improvise, Overcome.

And the ability to get along with and inspire the crew is critical. Along with getting along with inspectors and owners agents.

Before I went on my own I worked as an equipment operator for a contractor who was doing a lot of PW road work. The super managed to fight with every inspector we ever had to deal with, which made the inspectors go out of their way to find problems and jam up the work. Ended up costing the owner I don’t even know how much money, apparently nearly, or did, get thrown off a job, and finally had to stop bidding that work.
Makes sense but some of those things are hard for another person to gauge/assess.

acrwc10

Master Code Professional
Occupation
Building inspector