possible stupid question about fuses

Status
Not open for further replies.

shawn73

I have been an industrial electrician for almost 5 years and I am also working on an electrical degree. There is an engineer at my plant that I always ask questions and 99.9% of the time his information is valid. We had a discussion the other day in which I don't agree with him, or perhaps I truely don't understand. Here is my question...

I was told that fuses are for short circuit protection (phase to phase) NOT short to ground protection (phase to ground. Is it true that a fuse in some situations will not blow even though it has a solid ground? I can understand if you have a very slight ground that there may not be enough current to exceed the protective rating of the fuse. My head tells me if there is a difference of potential between 2 wires (ground always being 0) and they are connected without a load, current will increase until it excedes the rating of the protective fuse. Am I correct or did I miss out on some sort of theory??? Does transformer winding configuration (Delta or Wye) make some sort of difference? Thanks for all your help.

rattus

Re: possible stupid question about fuses

If he is talking about an ungrounded system, neither a fuse nor a breaker would blow on a phase to ground fault because there is no complete loop. But, if the current limit of the fuse or breaker is exceeded for any reason, you can expect it to do its duty.

avr

Well, a main breaker will protect from phase to phase or phase to ground and large overloads. You are allowed to use fuses in a main disconnect to a service. A fuse in a motor disconnect will blow if the load is grounded to the housing of the motor even though it is meant for overload protection. On my master test I remember that in the motor calculation I had to size the FUSES for the FEEDER SHORT CIRCUIT PROTECTION. My opinion is that the fuse will serve both purposes.

Ed MacLaren