Power Distribution to Multiple panels - OCPD requirements (Repost)

jfabry

Occupation
Electrical Designer
Initially my thread got locked asking for clarification on my occupation. I am reposting as I was not able to reply to the question on my related occupation. I am an Electrical Engineering Panel Designer looking for clarification on a NEC code standard.

I have a NEC Code question on the tap rule in which I have read through the NEC240.21 multiple times trying to interpret what is being stated. Looking for some clarification on this forum.

I have an industrial piece of equipment that has multiple panels with one panel (Panel #1) servicing power to other panels on our equipment. In this instance I have 2 panels.

Panel #1 (Main Power Panel)- has 100Amp OCPD

This 100A OCPD is feeding another Panel (Panel #2) that has a Power Distribution Block on it. The conductors are sized appropriately based on the OCPD (100A) feeding this Power distribution block.

Is it a requirement that this panel (Panel #2) have a OCPD prior to the Power Distribution Block? Does the length of the conductors from Panel #1 to Panel #2 also having any outcome in determining the requirement?

Thanks in advance for your review.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
If I correctly understand your question, then as long as the distribution block is rated at 100 amps or higher, then it does not need an OCPD of its own. It will be protected by the upstream 100 amp OCPD, as will also the feeder conductors from Panel 1. And there is no length limit.