Question on Grounding of an Antenna System Installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshaven

Please see the attached diagram. I am curious if this diagram is compliant with 810.21(F)(1) assuming there is an IBT. I am also not very confident that this doesn't create a ground loop by creating multiple paths to the ground system.

PowerPoint_Slide_Show_-__Module_9_NEC_Grounding_v1_9_pps__-__Read-Only_.jpg

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Answer 1: Don't think it matters any. There should be no current flow into the earth anyway under normal circumstances.

Answer 2: Not compliant. But does it really matter.

Adamjamma

I thought that as long as your ground rods are bonded to the entry ground rod, the above photo is correct. At least, that is what is being shown to many of us in Amatuer Radio and Satelitte communities... plus we have been told to try to use #6 wire as much as possible... but I could be wrong, as I am still learning wiring regulations even though so many years of ham radio and other stuff...

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
joshaven said:
I am curious if this diagram is compliant with 810.21(F)(1) assuming there is an IBT.

810.21(F)(1)In Buildings or Structures with an Intersystem Bonding Termination.
If the building or structure served has an intersystem bonding termination as required by
250.94, the bonding conductor shall be connected to the intersystem bonding termination.

So obviously it's not. The IBT would be on the side of the building with the service. To be compliant, all one has to do is connect the #6 from your ground rod to the IBT instead of the service grounding electrode as shown.

I don't see any reason to be concerned about a ground loop.

-Hal

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician