Rookie Speaker Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkgrady

I need to replace a couple of outdoor speakers. They are connected to a typical older receiver in a home. They are 60 watts and 8 ohms. I went on line to look for replacements but find a very limited supply of 60 watt outdoor speakers.

This will surely sound dumb but I have very little sound wiring experience. I'm pretty sure I need to match the 8 ohm rating of the speakers but how much can I vary up or down from the 60 watt value. I am guessing going lower will not be a problem and they just won't be as loud. Will going a little higher be a problem?

I should have looked at the output rating of the receiver but didn't think to at the time and it is too far to go back and look unless its really necessary. BTW these elderly people will not be cranking the sound way up in case that matters.

This will surely sound dumb but I have very little sound wiring experience. I'm pretty sure I need to match the 8 ohm rating of the speakers but how much can I vary up or down from the 60 watt value. I am guessing going lower will not be a problem and they just won't be as loud. Will going a little higher be a problem?

The power rating is for power-handling capability, not consumption (sort of like the gauge of a wire). You could connect a 1w speaker, but could also toast it easily. Unless they're really cranking things, anything from 40-80w should do.

mgookin

I'd go higher. You can put 100 watt speakers. The 60 watts you're using now are compatible with the output of the amplifier. If that amp is putting out 60 watts (or 50 or whatever) you don't want to have speakers below that. You'll have distortion immediately and blown speakers some time thereafter.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer