Scared of the INSPECTOR!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

selncell

Hi all,

So I am doing an upgrade service from 100A to 200A Single phase-Residence. I have studied my a$$ off using both the NEC (05) and a "helper" book. Have my permit pulled and am a little unsure on a few things.

Let it be known I am not an electrician. While I am paying my dues, I don't dare call myself that...yet!

I have a project at my mom's house, here is where I am at, please feel free to to call me on my ignorrance...still learning:

First the grounding. I have 2 8' foot copper (coated) rods at exactly 6 feet apart. I have a armored 6awe line connecting the 2 rods (I think I need to swap that out with 4awe bare copper...) The topic of direct burial is bugging me. As is, the rods I installed the other day protrude a few inches at most...is this a big deal?
I am planning on running another line from the closer of the two rods, to the actual Neutral buss bar. The distance from the closer of the 2 rods to the new service entrance will be about an 8 foot run. I am still expecting to come well under 25 ohms. Now, I originally was going to put the 2 rods in the earth next to the copper water main going into the house. I got one rod in, but couldn't get the second one in.....the footing was extended after the Northridge earthquakes, and couldn't get it in. So I have one rod going in, and connected to the main water line (no regulator, just a brass ball valve, in case u were wondering:)

So I believe I have to make the connection from the new panel's Neutral buss bar, to the cold copper water line. Can I run an armored 4 awe (or 6) bare copper line from the Neutral buss about 35 feet to the nearest cold copper line? There is a water softener, and I do plan on installing a jumper. Do I need to jump the Hot water as well? I think NEC calls for just the buried cold line (not sure where it was in the book, not in front of me now)