Selective Coordination

Status
Not open for further replies.

necnotevenclose

I have (2) questions this time.

1) I'm new to this selective coordination thing could anyone refer me to a good selective coordination program that is compatible with dumass 1.0?

2) I was looking at a previously engineered project and I notice that a panel was feeding another panel via circuit breaker, but then there was also an external fuseable disconnect. Thinking that this was excessive to have multiple disconnects I asked the enginner and he said the fuse disconnect was added because of the selective coordination? Is there any other way to accomplish selective coordination without using additional equipment?

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
With breakers it is sometimes impossible to have selective coordination for short circuits and ground faults with breaker ratings of less than ~400 amps. This only happens where the available fault current is high and where the fault on the load side of the branch breaker flows enough current to get into the magnetic (instantaneous)[FONT=&quot] trip range of both the branch breaker and the feeder breaker(s). In this case both breakers will trip. Remember, if it was always easy to selctively coordinate breakers, Bussmann would not have submitted the proposals that resulted in 700.27 and 701.18 in the 2005 NEC.
Don

[/FONT]

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
If it was a breaker feeding a sub-panel, the extra fuses may have been unncessary. I say maybe, because if the main panel feeding the sub-panel had some critical loads on it, you would want the sub-panel protection to go first. Without the fuses, depending on the main CB and sub-panel feeder CB ratings, it could have been a race as to which one tripped first. The fuses would become the primary protection in this case, the breaker becomes the back-up. As back-up, selective coordination usually goes out the window, you just want it to trip.