Ser

Status
Not open for further replies.

jheeinc

I have a question. I have never ran any cable assembly in a conduit except for a sleeve. I have been doing Electrical work for 30 yrs. Im being challenged, to where it says, in the code book you cant do this?
This is my situation. Im doing a modular project and certain portions were not wired by modular company, such as panel and AC. They in stalled a 2 inch conduit for service any where from 15 feet to 35 ft and a 1 inch conduit for AC anywhere from 15 to 35 ft. Another location is the Heat pumps are on roof. I will not run Ser on roof for physical damage, and basically crud job. I am coming out of pitch pocket with EMT. Some units are 20ft away some are 50ft away.
My question is am I allowed to install SER cable in that conduit the whole way or do I have to strip jacket back to where i change from the SER to the hard pipe

Last edited by a moderator:

jheeinc

SER and other other cables are allowed in conduit/raceway systems. See Chapter 9 for fill requirements.

Proper/listed fittings will be needed for transition.

Do you have to strip the cable jacket off the whole way or can you just pull it through

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Do you have to strip the cable jacket off the whole way or can you just pull it through

Technically it is a violation to strip the jacket off. Now why would you use se cable in a complete raceway. It costs more money, is harder to pull and you will have to figure raceway fill od the cable, not just the wires

iwire

Staff member
Technically it is a violation to strip the jacket off.

I disagree with that.

.Now why would you use se cable in a complete raceway. It costs more money, is harder to pull and you will have to figure raceway fill od the cable, not just the wires

Other than the cost for materials I disagree.

It's very convenient sometimes, it pulls easy if you leave the jacket on.

mwm1752