Shielded ground wire.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,:bye: I'm a new building inspector and want to do my job as best as possible. We have some controversy in regards to the need to bond the shielding at the ground clamp to rod connection. When running two ground rods with shielded grounding wire do you need 2 clamps at the first rod in order to continue the bonding of the shielding material between the two rods or is the contact of the shielding to the wire sufficiently bonded? I apologize in advance if this is a silly question, but being new to this job I want to provide the correct answer to the contractors of the area. Thank you

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
Welcome to the forum.

Before anyone can answer your question accurately we need to establish a common vocabulary. What is a shielded ground wire and what is it connected to?

Also check out the sticky in this sub-forum "Grounding and Bonding the big picture".

Hopefully this picture works. I'm referring to ground wire from the panel to two ground rods, when its stranded it needs mechanical protection via a metal armor or shielding. Maybe I should say armored ground wire?

Attachments

• 2223-TMC-close.jpg
    2223-TMC-close.jpg
    21 KB · Views: 1

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
I would called that armored. I'd also say that is something I've never seen before, but I think there was a previous discussion about that stuff. 250.64 (E) is the code section that applies.

The clamp looks compliant to me. Is that armor ferris metal or aluminium? Who says stranded needs to be protected?

mwm1752

By the looks of it there seems to be a smaller section to strip or maybe is where connection is to be clamped -- could this be for a lightning protection -- never seen this type of GEC

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation