Shopping out bids. HELP!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeilzabob

I am an electrical contractor in North Central Wisconsin. Over the last few months five of our bids have been shopped out. (That we know of) It is difficult to narrow it down to a single company because there are so many general contractors bidding the projects.
We hear of different bid formats that help to get rid of this problem. Like all subs need to submit to a database the day before and once they are all locked in, then the generals have access to them to choose who they want to use.
Is anyone familiar with a process like this and can you get me information on it. We need to replace our old system with a new in this state. I guess honesty gets you nowhere.

Mr. Wizard

I am an electrical contractor in North Central Wisconsin. Over the last few months five of our bids have been shopped out. (That we know of) It is difficult to narrow it down to a single company because there are so many general contractors bidding the projects.
We hear of different bid formats that help to get rid of this problem. Like all subs need to submit to a database the day before and once they are all locked in, then the generals have access to them to choose who they want to use.
Is anyone familiar with a process like this and can you get me information on it. We need to replace our old system with a new in this state. I guess honesty gets you nowhere.

There is no way to stop anyone from bid shopping. Consumers know that they can shop around and get the best value by comparing prices. Thats the way it was, is, and will be. I don't necessarily agree with it, but there really isn't much that can be done.

ron_o

There is no way to stop anyone from bid shopping.

For the past several years, contractors have been raping the public for all that they were worth, and then some. They could pick and choose who they wanted, skipped 'small jobs' and bid so high many could barely afford to have anything done.