Should I start writing my will?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, Im considered a newbie here, I think Ive been here in the past, just not sure if Ive participated in any discussions.
Anyhow, Ive been a construction electrician most my adult life with 28 years in the field (the last 8 years have been part time) although at the present I work as a boiler operator for the Govt.

Her in lies my problem, as we all know, the Govt is high and mighty and dont allow inspections from outside sources, inside sources dont have a clue about whats right or wrong. My point being, we are coming to the end of a complete remodel of out boiler plant. These boilers consist of one 750000hp gas fired boiler and two 200000hp "coal fired boilers. Our coal group is class F. Fuel delivery is auger style system from a silo outside the boiler location. We currently have 120 tons in the silo and another 200 tons on a concrete slab for emergency back up.
My current engineers have "self classified" this boiler plant as a "wet,damp" location instead of classifying it as class II Division II like the NEC says (based on a code that was found in a code book Im not familiar with and dont remember the reference numbers). The code they referenced ,in short, stated that because we didnt have X number tons of coal in storage that we werent required to classify the location as class II Division II.
So anyhow, the entire plant was wired "wet,damp" location. (emt with WT fittings and sealtight flex with NEMA 3R enclosures) There are even axle fans blowing air through the control panels. This is right next to the coal fired boilers. The boilers have been lit a couple times (trial but failed) and the whole plant is covered with a thick layer of coal dust right now.