size bonding jumper to ground ring

Status
Not open for further replies.

malachi constant

911 call center, new construction.
We have a ground ring at the generators and another one at the building sized the same. Question is what size the bonding jumper needs to be.
I think it is pretty straightforward. 250.53(C) tells you to size the grounding electrode per 250.66. It is a 2000A 480V service with largest ungrounded conductors being (8) sets of #350 AL. Equivalent area is 8x350=2800 kcmil. Our grounding electrodes are copper, so 3/0 is required - correct?

Unfortunately 2/0 was specified and is already installed, the trenches have all been backfilled. So a new trench would be required to get a 3/0 installed. I am a very by-the-book engineer but wonder if this something worth approaching the electrical inspector about. I know enough about grounding to know what is code, but not enough to make a judgment call as to whether the system is intrinsically safe as it is currently installed. Any thoughts on this? I don't want to propose something to the inspector that is a bad idea.

For what it's worth, the owner only cares that the system meets Motorola R56. We started with a 4/0 but as part of VE this was reduced to a 2/0, which still met R56...but no one bothered to check and see that it still met NEC.

Thanks!

malachi constant

250.66(C)

"Where the grounding electrode conductor is connected to a ground ring as permitted in 250.52(A)(4) that portion of the conductor that is the sole connection to the grounding electrode shall not be required to be larger than the conductor used for the ground ring."

I forgot to mention the ground rings are 4/0. This is not a code requirement, or a Motorola R56 requirement - both those allow #2, but at the Owner's request we arbitrarily increased their size.