Source for old QO panel covers?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a general contractor, one of my customers has a 1970s house with (2) 200-amp QO panels that have the wrong covers. They are an impressive display of butchery. My electrician looked around a bit for the correct covers, came up with nothing. I've done a bit of googling but so far no luck. Any recs for a place that might have either used or NOS covers for these panels? Looks like what is needed is QOC 40MG225S. Thank you.

Attachments

• 03_12_18 015.jpg
    03_12_18 015.jpg
    137.3 KB · Views: 7
  • 03_12_18 011.jpg
    03_12_18 011.jpg
    142.6 KB · Views: 4
  • 03_12_18 012.jpg
    03_12_18 012.jpg
    132.6 KB · Views: 3

norcal

Any used building material yards in the area? Have seen loadcenter fronts on eBay but they want your first born & your soul for the ones I saw, Habitat for Humanity, ReStore, is another place, but all of them are iffy.

growler

I'm a general contractor, one of my customers has a 1970s house with (2) 200-amp QO panels that have the wrong covers. They are an impressive display of butchery. My electrician looked around a bit for the correct covers, came up with nothing.

If you remove the sheet rock from around the panels an electrician should be able to change out both panels in a day.

The materials are not that expensive so the electrician may be willing to give a good price just to install new panels.

Think about it. new panels with all tight connections and maybe good for another 40 years.

growler

Why not put in filler plates?

That could help some but it looks like a "Home Line " cover on a "QO" panel. It's still going to be labeled wrong.

Why spend a half day trying to do a half assed job of repairing a problem when you can spends a day and do things right.

I would assume that a house that needs a 400 amp service is worth spending a little money on.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician