Stupid Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kalmangt

Ok I am not an electrician nor do I claim to be however my father in law and I are working on my kitchen. This is my question, in order to complete a ground couple you tie an aluminum wire ground and a copper ground to the same junction box?? does that make any sense?

charlie

Re: Stupid Question

Aluminum wire is dangerous if you don't know how to handle it properly. Do yourself and you family a big favor and get a qualified electrician to work with aluminum for you. If you do not, I would bet you will have a fire in the future. :(

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

Originally posted by kalmangt: ?in order to complete a ground couple you tie an aluminum wire ground and a copper ground to the same junction box?? does that make any sense?
May I ask what you believe a ?ground couple? to be? Are you trying to create one, or are you trying to avoid creating one? And are you speaking of joining two wires INSIDE a junction box, or joining them TO the junction box itself? I guess the answer to your last question is, "No, it does not make sense." But as ?the other Charlie? has said, you are treading on potentially dangerous territory. Are you sure you want to be doing this yourselves?

physis

It's really hard to help in a situation like this because it's to easy for the imformation to be misunderstood or misapplied and you might end up thinking you're doing something right when your actually doing it wrong.

If you are going to go ahead and do it yourselves anyway at the very least get a good book on basic electrical and look at it for at least a couple days befor starting.

It's really a good idea to have a professional take a look at what your doing.

marissa2

If the house was built in the early 70's aluminum wire was used a lot, befor they found out about the problems with it. But like what was said befor you have to be carefull when using copper and aluminum together.