T5 flashes the lamps, then goes out. Tried new lamps, ballast, and tombstones.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MAC702

Please forgive my post count. I've been reading Mike Holt's forum for many years, but this is the first time I haven't found an answer in a search.

I have a regular commercial client (BR31 ice cream shop) with some T5 fluorescent lighting. It is a row of three ceiling fixtures on the same switch. Each is a two-lamp. They've worked fine for many years. I was not the original installer.

He said it flashes when he turns it on, and then goes out. He said he replaced the lamps. Same thing. He suspects ballast and asks me to change it. I would suspect ballast, too, but I have no experience in troubleshooting T5's. None have ever failed on me before. So I replaced the ballast with the equivalent. But I get the same problem. It flashes, and then goes out. Sometimes, it will flash while manhandling fixture, but usually not. I've tried duplicating that on purpose by tapping various locations and connections, to no avail. Usually, if you toggle to the switch, it only flashes that first time, until you leave it alone for a while.

So I bring the fixture home and replace the tombstones, and use power at my bench to test it. SAME THING. What parts are there besides lamps, ballast, and tombstones? That's rhetorical unless I've just gone insane, finally.

Two times it actually stayed on, which eliminates some theories, probably. The first time it did this was after I replaced the tombstones and tested it on the bench. IT WORKED. I took it back to the store and reinstalled it in the ceiling, in a very PITA fixture. SAME PROBLEM. Took it back to the shop again, and now the problem is here, too, so that one fluke of staying on cost me half a day of traveling and installing and removing. Very upsetting.

Voltage at test bench is 122; voltage at point of connection in the store, which I also redid, under load, is 119.