table 220.55 madness

Status
Not open for further replies.
Can anyone help me? I am studying for my test and I can not destinguish the difference of when to use the name plate rating of a range or goto column A or B? If a range is rated at 7kw do you use collumn B or the name plate rating. How do you know what method to use? This diffucituty is driving me mad.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Table 220.55 is for household ranges. Table 250.56 is for other than dwelling units. For 1 cooking unit you would use the nameplate rating for non dwelling. For household on a 7kw range you would use column B if it is a dwelling unit. Also see note 5 in Table 220.55

celtic

Smoke,
you may find this page of interest:
220.55 Electric Ranges and Other Cooking Appliances—Dwelling Unit

Here is a brief glimpse:
EC Mag said:
While household cooking equipment can be added to a feeder or service load calculation at 100 percent of the equipment’s rating, it is not required. It is permissible to reduce the rating by applying the demand factors or by using the maximum demand loads in Table 220.55. For example, a 12-kW electric range will be installed in a one-family dwelling. This range can be added to the service load calculation at 12 kW (12,000 watts), or instead of the full rating, this range can be added to the calculation at a reduced load as specified by Table 220.55. Look in the left column of Table 220.55 for the number of appliances. This example has only one range; therefore, drop to “1,” and follow the row across to the appropriate column. Column A is used where the rating of the appliance is less than 3? kW. Column B is used where the rating of the appliances is 3? kW through 8? kW. Column C is the only column applicable for a 12-kW range. In accordance with Column C, a 12-kW range has a maximum demand of 8 kW (see Figure 1).
01_Code%20in%20Focus2.jpg

Thanks to Charles R. Miller

Last edited: