Table 310.15(B)(6)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I am thinking of a proposal for 2011 on this table based on the changes in 338.10. I have never done this before so I really don't have a good feel for it but I will do my best.

Here is the current wording of the table
Table 310.15(B)(6) Conductor Types and Sizes for 120/240-Volt, 3-Wire, Single-Phase Dwelling Services and Feeders. Conductor Types RHH, RHW, RHW-2, THHN, THHW, THW, THW-2, THWN, THWN-2, XHHW, XHHW-2, SE, USE, USE-2.

I would like to add an asterisk after "SE" and add a note that states when SE cable is installed outdoors.

Proposed Text
Table 310.15(B)(6) Conductor Types and Sizes for 120/240-Volt, 3-Wire, Single-Phase Dwelling Services and Feeders. Conductor Types RHH, RHW, RHW-2, THHN, THHW, THW, THW-2, THWN, THWN-2, XHHW, XHHW-2, SE*, USE, USE-2. *when installed per article 338.10(B)(4)(b)
My basis is that since NM cable is not listed and rated 60C then neither should SE if installed indoors.
It seems that currently under the 2008 SE cable is now limited to 60C when installed indoors as per article 338.10(B)(4)(a). This would mean that a 2/0 SE copper cable would be rated 145 amps and still be allowed on a 200 amp breaker. Dwellings only, of course.. It seems the intent was to lower the rating of SE but somehow I think it got overlooked in this section.

Feedback please.

iwire

Staff member
Dennis, IMO Table 310.15(B)(6) is not a conductor ampacity table like 310.16 etc.

It is just a 'you can use this for this' table, there are no temperature derting requirements etc.

The reason they can say 2/0 CU can be used for 200 amp dwelling unit service is because they are counting on the load to never reach that amount, and it will not as long as the calculations in Article 220 are followed.

If I had my way Article 220 would be changed to be provide more realistic service size and Table 310.15(B)(6) would go away.

Dennis Alwon