Terminals

Status
Not open for further replies.

KasseemF

I am a relatively new electrical inspector. I would like to know what the code says in relation to having more than one service conductor on a terminal. Like for example I inspected a building that hade a three-phase 350 amp main breaker that has two terminals for terminating the conductor on each phase, but the electrician placed three conductors and had two on a single terminal. Where in the code approves or disapproves this?

Also he had 3 - 3/0 AWG conductors for each phase this 350A. would this be severely overating the conductor in relation to the main breaker or is it because the cable is above the rating of the breaker it is okay?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
KasseemF said:
but the electrician placed three conductors and had two on a single terminal. Where in the code approves or disapproves this?

If the lug is listed for 2 terminals then it is compliant. Even the grounded conductor is allowed to have 2 terminals under one lug if it is parallel conductors and approved for use. Art. 408.41.

KasseemF

Re. terminals

Re. terminals

Well I understand that from Art. 110.14. but i see two screews .. which I assume should be for two conductors on on each phase of the breaker .. should the elctrician be allowed to place a third conductor on each phase allowing one of those screws to have two conductors?

iwire

Staff member
I have never seen a terminal on a large breaker that was rated for more then one conductor per 'screw'.

Some larger lugs used on neutral bars are specifically listed for two conductors per screw but they are the rarity not the norm.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
iwire said:
I have never seen a terminal on a large breaker that was rated for more then one conductor per 'screw'.

Some larger lugs used on neutral bars are specifically listed for two conductors per screw but they are the rarity not the norm.