Transformer Enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectricNewbie84

Hi,

I just joined this forum to seek knowledge from great experience Electrical mentors. I'm new to the electrical world and would like to understand real life electrical applications better.

I noticed, as I was driving home one day, these pad mounted transformed stationed on concrete pads. If there happens to be a flash flood or major storm (10 year storm) that causes a great amount of water to be high enough that goes above the 6" concrete pad, and into the transformer. If there's enough water that seeps into the transformer enclosure, what are the chances that it eventually causes a short circuit? Will the water be able to dissipate through the conduits and/or through the base of the transformer vault?

kwired

Electron manager
Hi,

I just joined this forum to seek knowledge from great experience Electrical mentors. I'm new to the electrical world and would like to understand real life electrical applications better.

I noticed, as I was driving home one day, these pad mounted transformed stationed on concrete pads. If there happens to be a flash flood or major storm (10 year storm) that causes a great amount of water to be high enough that goes above the 6" concrete pad, and into the transformer. If there's enough water that seeps into the transformer enclosure, what are the chances that it eventually causes a short circuit? Will the water be able to dissipate through the conduits and/or through the base of the transformer vault?