Transformer Sizing for Motor Circuits

jthompson97

Occupation
PV Electrical Engineer
Hello all! This is my first post but I have used these forums many times.

I work in the PV industry and typically only work with continuous inverter generation, so my knowledge of non-continuous loads is limited.

We have a PV ground mount site with single axis tracker motors. The motors are 1.5kW, 480V 3ph, 3A continuous, 18A inrush. Only one motor has inrush at a time due to controls.

We designed the site for four motors, which has a 35A main OCPD at the 480V panelboard and a 25kVA transformer to step up to the system voltage of 600V. However, the racking vendor added a fifth.

I am confident on our OCPD of 35A and associated cable sizing.
(18A/motor * 1 motor * 1 factor) + (3A / motor * 4 motors * 1.25 factor) = 33A, less than 35A.

However, we had a 25kVA transformer. I am not entirely certain on how to size the transformer. Is it okay to size it only based on the continuous loads or should I consider this inrush as well? Which of the below is correct?

• 33A (as determined above) * 480sqrt(3) = 27.4kVA - no good
  • I suppose the 1.25 factor is only for OCPD's. So if I did 18+ 3*4 = 30, 30*480sqrt(3) = 24.9kVA. Just makes it.
  • But if I only considered continuous, 3*5 = 15 -> 15*480sqrt(3) = 12.47kVA

topgone

Hello all! This is my first post but I have used these forums many times.

I work in the PV industry and typically only work with continuous inverter generation, so my knowledge of non-continuous loads is limited.

We have a PV ground mount site with single axis tracker motors. The motors are 1.5kW, 480V 3ph, 3A continuous, 18A inrush. Only one motor has inrush at a time due to controls.

We designed the site for four motors, which has a 35A main OCPD at the 480V panelboard and a 25kVA transformer to step up to the system voltage of 600V. However, the racking vendor added a fifth.

I am confident on our OCPD of 35A and associated cable sizing.